LARA, CHRIS & BLUE. {PORTAND}

I met Lara in my single-digits and then I met Chris in my teens. Years later, Lara and I were roommates in college

and we covered our walls in tapestries and listened to cassette tapes of Nil Lara and the Samples.

After we graduated, she and Chris moved away and I moved to Portland.

A few years ago, they had a baby and they named him Blue. And now they have another one on the way.

When these three were recently in Portland for a visit,

I photographed their little family and we had a few hours of adventure, pdx style.

The day was rainy and sweet: Blue collected leaves and watched the trains and rode on his dad’s shoulders;

we stood under an umbrella and ate pizza and counted raindrops.

Life is busy and we live in different cities and we don’t get to see each other often.

But when i am with them, its like the Samples are playing on repeat; when we are together, it is as if no time has passed at all.


