THE MAGIC. {VASHON ISLAND}

“and above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” ++roald dahl

My aunt and uncle’s house on Vashon has always been magic for me: the log house that my uncle built in the 70’s, the enormous old trees on their property, the long driveway through the woods leading from their house to the road, the puzzle pieces of sky that you can see through the pines. And now my kids find magic there, too.

* i was recently reminded of this roald dahl quote at a wedding I just shot::the bride’s sister read it to her during her toast and I tried not to cry, cause its hard to shoot with a viewfinder full of tears. be on the lookout for pictures from emily+ben’s wedding next week.

* go here for more pictures of our time on Vashon.

* happy weekend ya’ll–go find yerselves a lil’ drop of magic…









