JOSEPHINE FRANCES. {PORTLAND}.

making the decision to have a child is momentous. it is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body. +elizabeth stone

When I photographed Josephine, she was only a few days old, and she was breathtaking and otherworldly. The first time I met her, she was still on the inside and her mama’s belly looked like this. The day that I photographed her, she was sleepy and dreaming dreams about being born. She woke up and I finally saw her eyes and I couldn’t stop thinking about how small she was; and i tried to remember when my babies were that little. And then i thought about the miniature heart beating inside her body: pumping blood; perfect and incredible. I left the little family in a cloud of baby love, in awe of it all.

I imagine that they are still holding their new baby, gazing into her eyes, looking at her perfect face, letting her hands curl around their fingers.

And with every passing second, i have no doubt that all of their hearts are growing bigger and bigger.

