LATELY.

Lately Indy has been riding bikes around the block. And making bouquets from weeds and dandelions in the yard. And writing lists of words that are easy to spell with a peach-colored Sharpie. And cutting mushrooms for pasta sauce with a butter knife. And wearing a blue calico apron that my mom made for me when I was six.

Lately Indy has been putting teeth under a pillow and collecting dollars from a fairy, because sooner or later, adult teeth want out into the world, and they will push their way through no matter what. Now when Indy smiles, there is a gap, and I know the empty space will soon be filled. And it reminds me that every second, even when I can’t see it with my own eyes, my children are growing.

Lately, I just can’t seem to figure out where all the time has gone.

